Freephone: 0800 20 41 41

BOOK ONLINE

Celtic Motel - Reviews

Great weekend

Reviewed 26 Nov 2017

Great weekend with Horowhenua taste trail and Lions 10k fun walk along beach. Clean, tidy, bright and airy

Lynaire,

Restful, clean, welcoming

Reviewed 11 Nov 2017

Great service super friendly and helpful wonderful sized room and easy parking. Was a relaxing stay.

Sarah, (NZ)

Retro-style kiwi motel

Reviewed 05 Nov 2017

The cleanest motel I have ever seen .

Kath

An overnight stay

Reviewed 30 Oct 2017

An overnight stay, had a great look around Foxton. Extremely relaxing. Privacy and quietness of the location, excellent generous parking. Fantastic pillows on the bed.

Lynne

Fantastic service

Reviewed 29 Oct 2017

Fantastic service although we arrived late and without a booking. Comfortable beds, great pillows, service with a smile, big rooms and lots of extras. Thank you to Paul the owner for your patience and care with our very late arrival. Very much recommended and will definitely stay again.

Carol Turner

Super clean

Reviewed 27 Oct 2017

Super clean and owner is very friendly and accommodating.

Alicia, (NZ)

Very clean

Reviewed 23 Oct 2017

Very clean with comfortable beds. Very friendly

Suzanne, (NZ)

Immaculate accommodation

Reviewed 18 Oct 2017

Friendly welcoming host. Clean spacious room. Great facilities

Gordon Cooper, (GB)

Owners were extremely friendly

Reviewed 17 Sep 2017

Owners were extremely friendly and very accommodating. Beds were comfortable, very clean property

Tracie

"Work visit to Foxton"

Reviewed 27 Aug 2017

Stayed for 5 nights and found the motel very clean and tidy with all the amenities needed to make your stay enjoyable. Very friendly owners and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend and will be staying there again.

PeterIntercoll

"Our Visit to Celtic''

Reviewed 31 Jul 2017

Recently, We decided to travel to Foxton to visit Friends who had moved into the district. On Arrival, we found the Owners to be very friendly and approachable. When We returned to the Motel late after visiting our Friends, we found the lights and heater on in our room, which was most welcoming. We stayed for two nights, and the rooms were fully serviced with clean towels and beds made. The Motel's Cat 'Bob' was very friendly with our children. Recommended to all! and, we'll be back!

Spider S

Moutoa Hall Family Celebration"

Reviewed 18 Jul 2017

Nice clean Motel, quiet situation and friendly and helpful owners. Nice warm heating. Although the room had a microwave, there was only 1 glass bowl to try and cook a meal in. A few cassarole dishes would have been helpful.

napala67

"To attend an occasion in nearby Moutoa Hall"

Reviewed 17 Jul 2017

Excellent place to stay, clean, comfortable, friendly folk & QUIET away from the main highway but not too far away - wi-fi was on offer but we didn't require it so am not sure whether it is free or there is a fee. Would have no hesitation in recommending - thank you Paul & Lesley.

suem

Comfy beds, friendly welcome, great TV

Reviewed 18 Jul 2017

Bed was super comfy! It was great to have full selection of tv channels to watch and unwind after a long day traveling!

Lisa, (NZ)

The fox's lair at Foxton

Reviewed 15 Jul 2017

We stayed for 5 nights at the motel. The staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The room was large, clean and well equipped. We would definitely stay again next time we are in Foxton.

Mori Flapan

Very pleasant short stay with some great local beaches.

Reviewed 05 Jul 2017

Nice rooms. Very friendly proprietor and staff. Looked as if recently refurbed. Great walk in wet rooms and shower.

Jeffrey, (GB)

"Very Clean, comfortable Hotel. The owners make you feel at home."

Reviewed 02 Jul 2017

Large room with Queen bed and (2) twin beds. Kitchenette. Excellent service from the owners with a personal touch. Provide continental breakfast each day. Convenient to the beach. Very clean rooms, very well maintained.

Dirk_Arp

"Lovely visit"

Reviewed 01 Jul 2017

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very neat and cosy, a highly enjoyable stay. We felt very welcomed upon arrival and Paul showed us everything we needed to know (heater, wifi, chocolates.) The cat was also very friendly.

James C

Awesome place

Reviewed 06 Jun 2017

Awesome place to stay, breakfasts options were great. Highly recommend the Celtic motel. Paul was a great host, really goes the extra mile for you.

Matt Grimes

Celtic Motel

Reviewed 01 Jun 2017

Nice hosts, clean and spacious rooms, quiet location

Vicki-Anne Heikell

Very Clean

Reviewed 31 May 2017

Very clean ,very tidy, host was extremely polite and very helpful. Could not fault the service, would definitely stay again highly recommended AAAAA+++++

Pat Palmer

Very Pleasant

Reviewed 30 May 2017

Very pleasant stopover for when traveling North or South. Welcoming staff, comfortable rooms, and quiet being several blocks away from SH1. Recommended.

John Hodge

Very Clean and Comfortable

Reviewed 10 May 2017

Large room with Queen bed and (2) twin beds. Kitchenette. Excellent service from the owners with a personal touch. Provide continental breakfast each day. Convenient to the beach. Very clean rooms, very well maintained.

Dirk_Arp

Very nice

Reviewed 09 May 2017

Very nice, clean and quite room. The host Paul was very welcoming. Will definitely use Celtic Motel next time again.

Lum Rakovica

Great place to stay

Reviewed 02 May 2017

Comfortable beds, excellent WiFi, friendly staff.

Nina, (AU)

Nice relaxing place to stay.

Reviewed 28 Apr 2017

Friendly and helpful owners. Lot's of sky channels. Unlimited free WiFi that is easy to use (no need to login on web page to use it). Comfy bed. A really nice location which is quiet. This was my 2nd stay here and the place I intend to stay at in the future when in this part of the country.

Terminator Dean, (NZ)

A comfortable haven.

Reviewed 24 Apr 2017

Paul's friendly hospitality.

William, (NZ)

"Very happy"

Reviewed 21 Apr 2017

My sister and I stayed for two nights at Easter we found the accommodation basic but really good - Paul was very helpful. We would stay again. Nice and clean, Beds were comfy, location suited us, nice and quiet, well lit at night. Have nothing negative to say. A good experience.

jacqs129

"Suprisingley good"

Reviewed 21 Apr 2017

Very clean and comfortable refurbished rooms. Bathroom functioned very well. The host was very polite and helpful. It made our overnight stay very pleasant. The location was not as close to the town centre as hoped but still close enough for a 5-10 minute walk.

Jeff A

Wet & windy weather but nevertheless I had a warm welcome

Reviewed 20 Apr 2017

My stay in Foxton unfortunately coincided with some rather wet & windy weather but nevertheless I had a warm welcome on my arrival at the Celtic Motel by Paul, and was shown to my room and given a tour of the amenities and a run down on the local attractions and dining options. I made friends with Bob the cat and spent a while exploring a little of the Foxton area before retreating to my warm and comfortable room for the evening. I enjoyed my stay despite the weather and if I find myself heading up that way again I'll be hoping to stay with you again!

Stephen Laird

"Above and Beyond"

Reviewed 10 Apr 2017

The motel had been booked for group of us who arrived in diabolic weather conditions and received a welcome that more than made up for it. Instead of going out for dinner our hosts offered to collect our choice of food and deliver it to us. In addition they brought us bread and butter and sauces to go with our chosen fish and chips. They then took one member of our group to the nearest off licence to purchase some beer. This was exceptional treatment and we would all certainly return at some future date.

orangeNewZealand

"Great location"

Reviewed 07 Apr 2017

Have stayed here on 2 previous occasions. Roomy, quiet, well presented and so handy to catch the Cook Strait ferry. Paul goes out of his way to make his guests feel welcome. Handy to the shops and restaurants for your meals. Will return when we head south again

Leitah1951

Ideal Location

Reviewed 07 Apr 2017

The location is ideal, quiet and yet within a short distance from the main highway and also the centre of Foxton. The motel owners are friendly and helpful. We found our stay a very positive experience and would definitely recommend the motel to others.

Bernadette Giles

Very Friendly

Reviewed 06 Apr 2017

Very friendly and helpful service. The room was clean and comfortable and the motel was nice and quiet.

Nyra Sinclair

"Simply great"

Reviewed 03 Apr 2017

The motel units are big and very clean, the motel is located in a quite side road. Paul is a wonderful host, he makes you feel really welcome. Also his recommendations for dining were perfect. There are different breakfast options and it tastes very nice. Absolutely recommended if you need/want to stay in Foxton

Christian N

Quiet and peaceful.

Reviewed 23 Mar 2017

Bed and bedding excellent. Off the main highway and very quiet and peaceful.

Glenice, (NZ)

Convenient and comfortable

Reviewed 08 Mar 2017

Great location on route north from Inter island ferry and very quiet being well away from SH1

Peter, (GB)

Great break away.

Reviewed 06 Mar 2017

Everything was awesome, no complaints at all.

Roseanne, (NZ)

Recommended!

Reviewed 27 Feb 2017

Two years ago we stayed here whilst visiting from the UK to go to the Team Champs at Palmerston North so when we decided to visit again, there was only one place for us to stay. I cannot speak highly enough of this motel. Comfortable ,clean and quiet. Paul, the owner, cannot do enough for you. Most of the motel was taken up with visitors to the racing and I believe most of them have booked again for next year. We didn't - the only reason being that we live so far away - maybe in another couple of years!

Reviewed by lyn o

Staying in Foxton

Reviewed 25 Feb 2017

Owner was welcoming and the room was lovely and clean and spacious. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Michelle, (NZ)

Accommodation

Reviewed 24 Feb 2017

Lovely quiet spot. Comfy beds,very clean. Awesome friendly staff.

Fiona, (NZ)

"A Great Place to Stay"

Reviewed 15 Feb 2017

We have stayed in this motel twice now which has been ideal place for our family to stop while traveling to and from the South Island. Both our stays have been top notch. The motel is in a quiet location off the main road and the units are cleaned to a very high standard. The manager went out of his way to accommodate our family of five and even arranged to send some personal items back to us by post when we left them behind. Excellent customer service and I am happy to highly recommend this motel.

Sue-Sinclair

"Wonderful location"

Reviewed 13 Feb 2017

Awesome motel very quiet off the main road no road noise at all nice clean and tidy cleaned daily to a high standard Definitely recommend staff very friendly very accommodating Highly recommend this motel if visiting this area Room could of sleep four people quite easily with one double and two singles beds available microwave and small kitchen in room not a full kitchen

Marylyn B

Excellent, definatley recommended

Reviewed 05 Feb 2017

There was cutlery and dishes to use which was excellent, and came with complimentary cookies and chocolates, really nice

Alastair, (NZ)

"Fantastic Motel with the most amazing owners."

Reviewed 02 Feb 2017

We stayed here whilst journeying around beautiful New Zealand after being told about this little visited but gorgeous part of the North Island. After a long but rewarding drive from Napier, Paul and Lesley, the amazing owners, greeted us like long lost family to welcome us to their small part of paradise. Their affection and enthusiasm for the small town of Foxton was infectious and left us feeling that one day we will return to this lovely area. Foxton beach, a kilometer or so away is an amazing place to watch the sun set over the Tasman Sea and disappear behind Kapiti Island. Treasured memories. Thank you Paul and Lesley.

BlackSchnauzer (UK)

Excellent stop heading North from Wellington

Reviewed 27 Jan 2016

Very friendly staff. Awesome welcome!

Gillian, (GB)

Wonderful

Reviewed 26 Jan 2017

Wonderfully friendly hosts. Clean, comfortable and spacious room. Very quiet location. Good Wi-Fi.

Antony,

“Great stay”

Reviewed 24 Jan 2017

Lovely quiet motel with absolutely awesome hosts. We stayed for a wedding and they were very friendly and even turned the light on for us before we got home so we weren't walking into a dark room. Very accommodating. Would go back!

Sammy M

Staying @ Celtic Motel

Reviewed 22 Jan 2017

The accommodating management and staff I was able to get an early check in no problem. 😊

Raewyn, (NZ)

Great Stay

Reviewed 22 Jan 2017

Pretty good & comfy beds.

Paul, (NZ)

"Foxton what's not too love"

Reviewed 18 Jan 2017

I have been staying at the Celtic Motel for many year's. Both for Sled Dog Races and Waitarere Beach, a great place to run the dog's and I just love the drift wood. The Celtic is very easy to find quite great staff what more can be said. Visiting Foxton area STAY AT THE CELTIC A++++++

Snowk9s

"The best motel ever !"

Reviewed 10 Jan 2017

Very quiet motel, clean, comfortable and convenient location. The host is so nice and lovely, the rooms are brand new, so cute decoration and easy living!!! Everything's perfect!!! Highly recommended.

Anne Marie

A lovely little motel

Reviewed 10 Jan 2017

A lovely little motel in a quiet part of Foxton. The owners are excellent hosts, very hospitable and helpful. Room was a good size, very clean, tidy and modern. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Janice Roseingrave

"A gem"

Reviewed 07 Jan 2017

Stayed here with 3 other father's and their kids on a mix trip. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and clean. The outside surrounds were very clean and tidy. The beds were comfy and the kids loved the free wifi and the 50 sky channels. Will definitely be going back and would recommend this motel to others.

soundbeltfarm

Faultless!

Reviewed 04 Jan 2017

Can not fault this motel and would highly recommend. Staff and facilities are awesome.

Andrea, (NZ)

Helpful

Reviewed 02 Jan 2017

Helpful & friendly owners. They obviously enjoy their work and are happy to go the extra mile.

Christine, (AU)

This is a hidden gem

Reviewed 30 Dec 2016

We liked everything about this motel I was happy on every level and the major added bonus was how quiet it was there, we had the first proper nights sleep on our 9 day trip, I was sorry I didn't t get to say goodbye to our host as we slipped away early.

Richard, (NZ)

“Love this motel!”

Reviewed 29 Dec 2016

I've stayed here a few times now so it's definitely about time I wrote a well informed review! Awesome motel, very clean, modern and well equipped with comfortable beds and hosts that go well out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. Love the addition of my sky tv and always delighted by the well stocked quality tea/coffee/hot choc/cookies plus unlimited wifi. It's always a relaxing trip to Foxton when we stay here!

Dmiller Hawkes Bay

Perfect

Reviewed 26 Dec 2016

Such friendly hospitality and so perfect and clean and comfortable - really could not fault a thing

Little family, (AU)

Very comfortable

Reviewed 18 Dec 2016

Very comfortable, clean & tidy facilities. Excellent service from Paul. Would definitely stay again.

Mark Rule

Welcoming, quiet and relaxing.

Reviewed 12 Dec 2016

The room was spacious and spotless. Easy to find and with being off the main room, very quiet. The owner was very helpful in recommending a couple of places for dinner, offering to ring to make a booking. Overall, a good place to stop overnight, as part of our journey heading north.

wasp07 Wellington

“Friendly and accommodating - lovely room”

Reviewed 08 Dec 2016

Booked on behalf of staff traveling with client. The motel couldn't have been more helpful with the booking and the staff who stayed said the room and motel were lovely to stay at. Accommodated a late check out which was much appreciated and the price for the room was great

Linden06 Wellington

Celtic Motel Foxton

Reviewed 04 Dec 2016

Fabulous host and excellent room. Really enjoyed my stay.

Chris Dunn

A very quiet location

Reviewed 20 Nov 2016

A clean and comfortable motel in a very quiet location close to the centre of town.

Bernadette, (NZ)

Looking for a place to stay in Foxton? Look no further.

Reviewed 15 Nov 2016

The bed was just right, not too hard/soft, plenty of blankets and a heater in the room for the cold. I liked the extra touches of cookies and chocolates. I did not get to see the staff or have use of the WiFi, but good to know they were there if needed.

Marie, (NZ)

I would be happy to stay here again.

Reviewed 13 Nov 2016

Being able to check in earlier. The proximity to my mum's family who are three minutes down the road. The kitchen facilities including the cookies and chocolates. Having a heater in the room. The number of TV channels available. My mum being able to sit outside our room while she had a cigarette instead of her standing out on the road. Overall a very good experience. My brother and mum's brothers who were in the next room also enjoyed their stay. Thank you.

Cindy, (NZ)

"Relaxing and Friendly Atmosphere"

Reviewed 09 Nov 2016

We stayed in room 2 for two nights. The room had a lovely small refrigerator, microwave, and kitchen space. The entire place was well kept and very clean. Sky TV, WiFi, a double bed and two twin-sized beds makes this a perfect place for a family stay. The room was stocked with coffee, biscuits, and other homey amenities. It was exactly what we needed - a refuge to rest and relax. The hotel is close to downtown Foxton if you need to access stores or banks as well - we walked to restaurants and stores during our stay.

lmschlichting

"Very quiet , modern and great service."

Reviewed 25 Oct 2016

We were late getting there and they still went out of their way to find us a suitable room. Very quiet location. Nice and tidy layout inside and out. Was a pity it never had a hot plate but we made do with takeaways and using the microwave. Thanks.

camping912

Excellent accommodation

Reviewed 25 Oct 2016

Everything..we thought the hostess very pleasant and helpful the unit very comfortable and extremely clean😊 the little snacks were a lovely touch and room serviced as a good service. This is not a dislike nor criticism but just a thought maybe a small electric fry pan for our own breakfast to make.

Jill, (NZ)

Neta, (NZ)

Reviewed 09 Oct 2016

Unit was very clean and warm. Location was great no road noise. But close enough to to most places we needed to go. Foxton not that big mind you I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this Motel to my friends and work colleagues. Thank you

Neta, (NZ)

"" Home Away from Home""

Reviewed 06 Oct 2016

Would highly recommend this Motel - spotlessly clean and very quiet. Obliging owners - nothing was a problem. Nice tidy gardens and ample parking. The Motel is set off the main road with a rural aspect so is very quiet. Beds are very comfortable and kitchen is adequately stocked. Would definitely stay here again.

philiphobbs2016

Lyra Helion

Reviewed 06 Oct 2016

Very nice stay and thoughtful host.

Lyra Helion

"October 2016"

Reviewed 05 Oct 2016

Stayed at the Celtic motel while attending an event at the racecourse. Very impressed with the standard and service. Rooms were comfortable, super clean and tidy and Paul was lovely. As a bonus its in a quiet, but convenient location so not bothered by traffic noise. Definitely recommend.

badgerwave

"Good choice."

Reviewed 25 Aug 2016

Just nice clean, comfortable accommodation. Quiet position off main Rd. Little hard to find in dark as not much street lighting. Only stayed overnight but would recommend for longer stays also.Great helpful hosts.

Yvette L

"Inviting"

Reviewed 24 Aug 2016

Clean,tidy and warm. Owner very helpful and pleasant.surroundings nice and quiet. A special touch by the owners was they left a small chocolate bar also milk, coffee, Milo and tea for your convenience. Would stay there again when traveling that way .

chrissjennie

Kitty Henson

Reviewed 10 Aug 2016

Incredibly welcoming and friendly hosts who went above and beyond with keeping my room warm and allowing a late check out as it fitted in with their bookings. The room was absolutely spotless and the bed was very comfortable. It was quiet as not situated right on the main road. Would stay here again

Kitty Henson

TripAdvisorTripAdvisorTripAdvisorTripAdvisorTraveler Choice AwardBest Motels Award