Freephone: 0800 20 41 41

BOOK ONLINE

Celtic Motel - Reviews

Really Clean Unit

Reviewed 30 Jul 2018

Clean towels every day. Really clean unit. Big comfortable bed. Teapot with filter. Cotton sheets. Chocolate and biscuits. Heater turned on when I had been out for the day.

Christine

Great place to stay!!!

Reviewed 24 Jul 2018

Bed was super comfy, room warm during winter, kids loved having sky to entertain them, staff were really helpful and kind during our stay and made sure we had what wee needed. Quiet overnight for baby

Stacey, (NZ)

Wonderful I would stay again and recommend to others.

Reviewed 01 Jul 2018

We had wonderful service, very helpful on where it eat etc, good heating, very tidy and I was VERY impressed when we were given real milk in a carton and not that horrible UHT milk in tiny containers.

Desiree, (NZ)

Great room with excellent service

Reviewed 31 May 2017

Owner messaged us that we left a pair of gumboots right away. Very friendly and helpful.

Erin, (US)

Beautifully clean

Reviewed 23 May 2018

Motel was beautifully clean, and each day unit was serviced to a very high standard. Bed very comfortable. A good heater kept the unit cosy. Motel is in a quite area of the town.

Geraldine

It was a short stay but perfect for our family.

Reviewed 16 May 2018

The location was quite but still very handy to the shopping area. We were traveling with children and love the configuration of room.

Victoria, (NZ)

Wonderful stay at, The Celtic Motel in Foxton :)

Reviewed 30 Apr 2018

The owners/staff are friendly and helpful, the room was clean/comfortable and quiet. Wonderful stay, I'd recommend, The Celtic Motel in Foxton to budding travelers :)

Antonette

Celtic Motel - Great Place to stay

Reviewed 29 Apr 2018

Extremely clean & comfortable, great hosts, especially Paul who ensued are short stay was comfortable with everything we needed. I would recommend it to anyone 😊

Helen McEvoy

A pleasent stay.

Reviewed 26 Apr 2018

Nice and quiet. Good parking, not too far away from amenities. Helpful staff.

Blkcapri, (NZ)

Very good value for money

Reviewed 07 Apr 2018

Very friendly staff. Made me feel at home. Very clean and tidy!

Annelise

Lovely and clean

Reviewed 06 Apr 2018

Well presented and very quiet.

Robyn

Comfortable Retreat

Reviewed 02 Apr 2018

We've stayed here several times over the years for business, and enjoyed every single visit. Celtic Motel is located down a quiet side street in small town Foxton. You'll receive a warm welcome complete with biscuits and chocolates in your room. Beds are very comfortable and with Sky 50+ Channels what more could you ask for.if you need any local information, Paul's the man.

SmilinNZ

A good night's sleep

Reviewed 01 Apr 2018

We enjoyed a very pleasant evening and rest.

Christopher, (NZ)

Perfect!

Reviewed 31 Mar 2018

Liked little extras like chocolate & biscuits.

Karen, (NZ)

Perfect overnight stop.

Reviewed 24 Mar 2018

Great accommodation and the perfect hosts. Exceptionally clean, the accommodation, surroundings, peaceful.

Mistie, (GB)

Splendid quiet little place

Reviewed 07 Mar 2018

It is in a great location to get to the beaches, it was like a home away from home. The people running it where friendly and could offer great insight to the area and provided me with great places to visit.

Bsdesigned, (GB)

Quiet location.

Reviewed 04 Mar 2018

Paul very welcoming, efficient. Peaceful location.

Kel and Lois

Perfect in all regards

Reviewed 03 Mar 2018

Many things to compliment this facility including. The quiet but accessible location The size of the accommodation and the facilities within The helpfulness of the owners in all regards. The value for money Cleanliness had it not been for our itenary we would have stayed longer.

Barry, (GB)

Quiet and delightful

Reviewed 01 Mar 2018

Quiet and delightful amplified by people running motel and colleagues in area Quiet location but people and comfort made huge difference

Douglas, (GB)

STOPOVER

Reviewed 27 Feb 2017

Paul was extremely helpful.Rooms were absolutely SPOTLESS.I would definitely stay there again. Motel is off the road which makes it quiet.

Marlene R

Excellent stay

Reviewed 20 Feb 2018

Excellent stay and the hosts were great.

Anonymous

Just a wonderful

Reviewed 19 Feb 2018

Just a wonderful all round experience , we were in town for a funeral and certainly cheered us up. The hostess was wonderful and friendly, even offered to help with our luggage and would close the curtains at night while we were out and turn the night light on. This was hospitality that used to happen a long time ago, absolutely fantastic. Bed was great too.

Paul,

Quiet

Reviewed 18 Feb 2018

Quiet, semi rural, easy to find. We would definitely recommend this motel.

Christine Lewis, (NZ)

Weekend away

Reviewed 10 Feb 2018

The Celtic Motel is on the edge of the town close enough to State Highway 1 to be handy but far enough away to avoid any traffic noise. The unit was comfortable and made for a pleasant stay. One trick however is if leaving the ranch slider open leave the net curtain drawn across the doorway - this stops insects from getting in. Foxton is an interesting place for a stopover, particularly with the Dutch museum and windmill, the Mavtech technology museum, and a number of other interesting things in the area. By prior arrangement guests arriving late can have their key left for them in a security box enabling immediate access to their unit.

Pat

Pleasant

Reviewed 09 Feb 2018

Television was very good quality picture and the room was clean. Great hosts. Quiet location.

Richard

Great Location

Reviewed 07 Feb 2018

Great location, quiet semi rural location but minutes to shops, friendly great host.

David, (NZ)

Peaceful

Reviewed 01 Feb 2018

The location is peaceful, the service is superb and the units are spotless. We always enjoy our stay at this motel and therefore highly recommend it. It is also well located in terms of traveling to other places in the South of the North Island.

Jenny Strother

Nice place

Reviewed 31 Jan 2018

Nice clean room, friendly owner Paul,nice garden, quiet location:) This is a great place to stop in for the night before heading Wellington and South Island. We would stay here again when traveling:)

krzysztofleszek

"lovely motel"

Reviewed 16 Jan 2018

Travelled from Taranaki to see family in Foxton. Nice clean room, friendly owners, quiet location, second time we have stayed here and were very happy with both stays.The motel is close to town and the beach.

Judy B

"Great place to stop, nice, clean and quite"

Reviewed 14 Jan 2018

The location a little bit difficult to find, but very nice place, quietly and modern facilities. Clean, beautiful surroundings and modern facilities. According to use the facilities we needed a oven and maybe less tv facilities.

frankpskov51

Perfect place to stop and recharge after driving all day.

Reviewed 09 Jan 2018

After several hours in the car traveling south from Coromandel on holiday, this is a great place to stop in for the night before carrying onto Wellington to catch the ferry to the south Island as we did. Clean Room, Sky TV, nice gardens, and quiet. Our ferry was cancelled due to bad weather the following day, but we decided to stay another night at the hotel and spend the day Looking around Foxton Beach and area. We would stay here again when traveling.

Dave & Alice.. and baby Atticus :

Very relaxing

Reviewed 01 Jan 2018

clean and quiet

carol, (NZ)

Our stay was excellent we would come again definitely

Reviewed 31 Dec 2017

We arrived and someone welcomed us and showed us around everything was set up clean and well presented it was a quiet place where we could be ourselves even though it was full

Kelvin, (NZ)

"Very enjoyable"

Reviewed 29 Dec 2017

I always fear the worst when staying in motels but this was an absolute treat. The owner was very friendly and helpful when we arrived and the room was great. We stayed with our 10 year old daughter and the room was very spacious with everything you need. The motel is handy to town and the beach and right next to SH 1. I defintely recommend this place.

John T

Celtic Motel

Reviewed 28 Dec 2017

The owner Paul was lovely and very informative about the town. We felt welcomed straight away.

anne , (NL)

We wanted a peaceful stay and we got it.

Reviewed 27 Dec 2017

Peaceful and quiet. Beds were also very comfy.

Lalotava, (NZ)

Just excelllent

Reviewed 23 Dec 2017

cleanest ever - lovely new bed was very comfy. Very quiet area of town. Very nice breakfast.

Freya, (NZ)

Excellent place to stay.

Reviewed 14 Dec 2017

Clean room. Bed size large and comfortable.

James, (SG)

Great weekend

Reviewed 26 Nov 2017

Great weekend with Horowhenua taste trail and Lions 10k fun walk along beach. Clean, tidy, bright and airy

Lynaire,

Restful, clean, welcoming

Reviewed 11 Nov 2017

Great service super friendly and helpful wonderful sized room and easy parking. Was a relaxing stay.

Sarah, (NZ)

Retro-style kiwi motel

Reviewed 05 Nov 2017

The cleanest motel I have ever seen .

Kath

An overnight stay

Reviewed 30 Oct 2017

An overnight stay, had a great look around Foxton. Extremely relaxing. Privacy and quietness of the location, excellent generous parking. Fantastic pillows on the bed.

Lynne

Fantastic service

Reviewed 29 Oct 2017

Fantastic service although we arrived late and without a booking. Comfortable beds, great pillows, service with a smile, big rooms and lots of extras. Thank you to Paul the owner for your patience and care with our very late arrival. Very much recommended and will definitely stay again.

Carol Turner

Super clean

Reviewed 27 Oct 2017

Super clean and owner is very friendly and accommodating.

Alicia, (NZ)

Very clean

Reviewed 23 Oct 2017

Very clean with comfortable beds. Very friendly

Suzanne, (NZ)

Immaculate accommodation

Reviewed 18 Oct 2017

Friendly welcoming host. Clean spacious room. Great facilities

Gordon Cooper, (GB)

Owners were extremely friendly

Reviewed 17 Sep 2017

Owners were extremely friendly and very accommodating. Beds were comfortable, very clean property

Tracie

"Work visit to Foxton"

Reviewed 27 Aug 2017

Stayed for 5 nights and found the motel very clean and tidy with all the amenities needed to make your stay enjoyable. Very friendly owners and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend and will be staying there again.

PeterIntercoll

"Our Visit to Celtic''

Reviewed 31 Jul 2017

Recently, We decided to travel to Foxton to visit Friends who had moved into the district. On Arrival, we found the Owners to be very friendly and approachable. When We returned to the Motel late after visiting our Friends, we found the lights and heater on in our room, which was most welcoming. We stayed for two nights, and the rooms were fully serviced with clean towels and beds made. The Motel's Cat 'Bob' was very friendly with our children. Recommended to all! and, we'll be back!

Spider S

Moutoa Hall Family Celebration"

Reviewed 18 Jul 2017

Nice clean Motel, quiet situation and friendly and helpful owners. Nice warm heating. Although the room had a microwave, there was only 1 glass bowl to try and cook a meal in. A few cassarole dishes would have been helpful.

napala67

"To attend an occasion in nearby Moutoa Hall"

Reviewed 17 Jul 2017

Excellent place to stay, clean, comfortable, friendly folk & QUIET away from the main highway but not too far away - wi-fi was on offer but we didn't require it so am not sure whether it is free or there is a fee. Would have no hesitation in recommending - thank you Paul & Lesley.

suem

Comfy beds, friendly welcome, great TV

Reviewed 18 Jul 2017

Bed was super comfy! It was great to have full selection of tv channels to watch and unwind after a long day traveling!

Lisa, (NZ)

The fox's lair at Foxton

Reviewed 15 Jul 2017

We stayed for 5 nights at the motel. The staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The room was large, clean and well equipped. We would definitely stay again next time we are in Foxton.

Mori Flapan

Very pleasant short stay with some great local beaches.

Reviewed 05 Jul 2017

Nice rooms. Very friendly proprietor and staff. Looked as if recently refurbed. Great walk in wet rooms and shower.

Jeffrey, (GB)

"Very Clean, comfortable Hotel. The owners make you feel at home."

Reviewed 02 Jul 2017

Large room with Queen bed and (2) twin beds. Kitchenette. Excellent service from the owners with a personal touch. Provide continental breakfast each day. Convenient to the beach. Very clean rooms, very well maintained.

Dirk_Arp

"Lovely visit"

Reviewed 01 Jul 2017

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very neat and cosy, a highly enjoyable stay. We felt very welcomed upon arrival and Paul showed us everything we needed to know (heater, wifi, chocolates.) The cat was also very friendly.

James C

Awesome place

Reviewed 06 Jun 2017

Awesome place to stay, breakfasts options were great. Highly recommend the Celtic motel. Paul was a great host, really goes the extra mile for you.

Matt Grimes

Celtic Motel

Reviewed 01 Jun 2017

Nice hosts, clean and spacious rooms, quiet location

Vicki-Anne Heikell

Very Clean

Reviewed 31 May 2017

Very clean ,very tidy, host was extremely polite and very helpful. Could not fault the service, would definitely stay again highly recommended AAAAA+++++

Pat Palmer

Very Pleasant

Reviewed 30 May 2017

Very pleasant stopover for when traveling North or South. Welcoming staff, comfortable rooms, and quiet being several blocks away from SH1. Recommended.

John Hodge

Very Clean and Comfortable

Reviewed 10 May 2017

Large room with Queen bed and (2) twin beds. Kitchenette. Excellent service from the owners with a personal touch. Provide continental breakfast each day. Convenient to the beach. Very clean rooms, very well maintained.

Dirk_Arp

Very nice

Reviewed 09 May 2017

Very nice, clean and quite room. The host Paul was very welcoming. Will definitely use Celtic Motel next time again.

Lum Rakovica

Great place to stay

Reviewed 02 May 2017

Comfortable beds, excellent WiFi, friendly staff.

Nina, (AU)

TripAdvisorTripAdvisorTripAdvisorTripAdvisorTraveler Choice AwardBest Motels AwardHospitality New Zealand Member